Review: Bobarra Checkpoint Friendly Laptop Bag

A bag that you can actually keep your laptop in for airport security screening. Sounds too good to be true, huh? Well, according to Bobarra you can!

I was given a Bobarra Checkpoint Friendly Laptop Bag to review. With this bag, you are able to go through security without having to remove your laptop! While that is an awesome feature of the bag, there are so many elements to this beautiful bag that impressed me!

Design Aspects of the Bag

This Bobarra laptop bag is made with quality and durability and so many great details! When I first opened my box, I saw a bag. Well, you get your laptop bag in a nice cloth bag, just like you would in most high-end handbag shops. This is a very nice accompaniment since you can keep your laptop bag inside the bag when you aren't traveling with it.

The bag comes in four different colors/designs and two different sizes. The Small size fits a 13″ laptop, while the Large size fits a 15″ laptop. I received the Large size in the color/design of The Lady Lindy in Barcelona (as pictured above). I have seen 2 of the other colors/designs in person and they are just as beautiful as the picture shows.

The exterior of the bag is beautiful. It is made of a stain and water resistant canvas. There are four metal feet on the bottom of the bag to provide protection.

The bag contains three total zip-up compartments:

The laptop compartment is soft and padded to provide adequate protection for your laptop. This compartment is the section where TSA security is supposed to be able to screen through during the security check-in.

The middle compartment is lined with the same design as the outside of the bag. When I saw this, I was impressed because you rarely see the inside of a bag lined this way. There is a clear zipper pocket that is removable. I used this pocket for my boarding pass and I.D. They were visible, easily accessible and closed securely inside the compartment so I wouldn‘t have to dig to find it. You could also store liquids in this clear zipper pocket so you could just easily remove it for security. This compartment is also large enough to keep other items too. I kept my wristlet in this middle compartment.

The third compartment is what Ill call the “work” compartment. I kept my notebook, calendar, phone, gadget batteries (phone, laptop, camera). This compartment has a zipper pocket to keep all of those small items you dont want to get lost in the bottom of your bag (I held my lipstick, gum and mints in there). There are also three small pockets stitched into the inside of the bag. These pockets are lined with the same exterior fabric (again, awesome detail) and one pocket has four pen/pencil pockets and an inner key ring holder. During my trip, I kept my cell phone in one of the pockets so it was easily accessible.

Bobarra Bag Interior Shot
Interior Picture. Bag shown is the Lady Lindy in Saigon.

Personal Use

I love this bag. I have received so many compliments! It is beautiful, stylish and functional. I really liked how the straps stayed UP on my shoulder when the bag was full of all my stuff. I had issues with my previous bag's shoulder strapsslipping down. As you can see from the information in this review, the little details were what made me appreciate it. I also love all of the compartments and organization the bag offers! Who wants to rummage through their bag to find something?

I really wanted to see if I would have to remove my computer from the bag for security. The Bobarra website clearly states that you have to “pack the bag correctly to ensure an unobstructed view of your computer.” You are supposed to unzip the middle section of the bag and lay it flat so they can scan it properly. I didn't do that like this You Tube video suggests.

I had a conversation with the TSA Screener during my trip to see if he was familiar with these types of bags (and hope I didn't get interrogated or anything). Luckily, I had a nice Screener who said the bag would go through fine as long as the other compartments of the bag didn't obstruct the view of the laptop section (yeah, that's what the Bobarra website said too). I had him scan it anyway knowing there were tons of other objects that would obstruct it. Ultimately, we had to remove my laptop and run it through the scanner separately since I didn't unzip the bag as I mentioned in the previous paragraph. The Screener said he has seen bags similar to the Bobarra laptop bag and they scan just fine.

You can rate this review in the published Divine Caroline Review here.

100 Comments

  1. Kelly Flaherty on June 1, 2009 at 10:34 am

    As a new mommy, this bag would be a lifesaver for me! I’m struggling to keep organized. With all my coupons, planners, baby stuff to bring on the go, it’s hard to fit everything in my son’s small diaper bag. Not only would I be organized, but the bag would keep me in style.

  2. Monica Lanton on June 1, 2009 at 10:38 am

    I think this would be a great bag for me as my current laptop bag is a boring blue backpack that looks like it is going to make me tip over! I love that is is checkpoint friendly too. It looks very spacious as well.

    [email protected]

  3. The Diaper Diaries on June 1, 2009 at 10:49 am

    I love all the different compartments. This would be awesome to have!!

  4. Tiffany Leary on June 1, 2009 at 10:52 am

    This is gorgeous! It would be a fantastic way to travel… Right now my poor little laptop gets squished in my backpack… Please rescue my laptop and pick me to win this gorgeous bag!

  5. Tiffany Leary on June 1, 2009 at 10:53 am

    I already subscribe DAILY via the google reader. It’s so easy and convenient! You’re in my ‘inbox’ every day!

  6. Tracy Hendricks on June 1, 2009 at 10:54 am

    I would get so much use from a laptop bag. With 3 young kids and 3 car seats, we don’t fly as a family right now, but most of our family is out of town. We do a lot of travelling for visits and camping, and use the laptop as a connection to the real world when out and about and even more so as a picture download. Lately, I’ve just been stashing the computer in the front seat on the floor, or stashing in the kids’ toy bag. Believe it or not, the laptop is still in pretty good shape, but a bag would be extremely helpful.

  7. Myra on June 1, 2009 at 11:03 am

    I would love to use this bag for keeping all the stuff that goes around with me as I’m a new mommy! I love that it’s stylish and has many compartments! Yay for organization!

    [email protected]

  8. Julie Keefer on June 1, 2009 at 11:07 am

    Wow this looks like it would make my life easier and certainly more organized!

  9. Amy @ AmyLovesIt! on June 1, 2009 at 11:08 am

    I lurves it!

    sanorton02 AT gmail DOT com

  10. Emilie @ Doritos for Dinner on June 1, 2009 at 11:21 am

    I MUST HAVE this bag! Please email me at [email protected] to let me know when I win it!

  11. sito on June 1, 2009 at 11:41 am

    I am so happy to see that manufacturers are addressing some of the travel “problems” and making their products more airport-friendly. With all the other aggravations involved in traveling, little things like this can really make a difference!

  12. Becky (Nickels-n-Dimes) on June 1, 2009 at 12:01 pm

    Getting another entry for this beautiful bag. As you know, I am frugal and as long as I have something functional, I won’t be buying anything new. So, that means unless I win this, I will continue to carry my plain ol’ bag.

    Thanks Andrea!

  13. Kim on June 1, 2009 at 12:19 pm

    This bag rocks!!!

  14. Elizabeth on June 1, 2009 at 12:40 pm

    I’m telling you – it’s a stylin’ bag fer sure!

  15. [email protected] Everyday on June 1, 2009 at 12:42 pm

    That bag looks incredible!

  16. Stephanie on June 1, 2009 at 12:57 pm

    This bag is so cute!

  17. Jolene on June 1, 2009 at 1:13 pm

    This bag is awesome!

  18. Michele on June 1, 2009 at 1:24 pm

    I would LOVE to win this. I have been looking for a bag for a while and can`t find one I like. This one looks awesome with lots of storage and its stylish as well.

  19. Toni on June 1, 2009 at 1:30 pm

    This is a beautiful bag! It would come in handy traveling with 3 kids. My new laptop no longer fits in my old case.

  20. Shannon Perlow on June 1, 2009 at 1:48 pm

    I love the designs! SO Great!

  21. Adriana on June 1, 2009 at 2:04 pm

    That is super neat! And I love the print.

    collegekidsaves at gmail.com

  22. Melissa on June 1, 2009 at 2:07 pm

    Gorgeous bag!

  23. Amanda on June 1, 2009 at 2:13 pm

    What a great bag. I am in desperate need of a new laptop bag. Mine is 3 years old and it’s tire to retire it.

  24. Michele on June 1, 2009 at 2:21 pm

    I’ve never seen a bag quite like this one. Would love to try it out! I’ve got four kids (and my own junk!) to keep track of….this would surely help!

  25. Poltzie on June 1, 2009 at 2:29 pm

    I would LOVE to win this!

  26. Jen on June 1, 2009 at 2:48 pm

    Love the bag!

  27. Brittany Albert on June 1, 2009 at 3:04 pm

    cool
    balbert1205 at gmail dot com

  28. Halifax on June 1, 2009 at 3:18 pm

    Would love to own one of these. Feel so trendy already

  29. Katherine on June 1, 2009 at 4:36 pm

    This bag sounds great!

  30. Lorie on June 1, 2009 at 5:33 pm

    love it!

  31. Mercedes on June 1, 2009 at 5:56 pm

    OMG! I really like that lindy design.

    Mercedes

  32. Connie R. on June 1, 2009 at 5:57 pm

    looks wonderful

  33. Angel on June 1, 2009 at 6:03 pm

    Great review! Now I’m even more sure that I want this bag!

  34. Shelli on June 1, 2009 at 6:27 pm
  35. Shelli on June 1, 2009 at 6:29 pm

    This bag would have come in handy at the airport this weekend. Had a TSA pretty much tear apart our bag looking through everything because the view of “something” was obstructed. Even tore apart a mini first aid kit. super frusterating…soooo….this bag would make that whole process so much easier… :)

  36. robin on June 1, 2009 at 7:07 pm

    Looks like a well thought out bag! And with having to take off shoes, belts, and just about everything else… keeping the laptop in it’s bag would be pretty useful.
    Thanks!
    Robin

  37. Erica on June 1, 2009 at 7:31 pm

    Wow, this would come in handy! It holds so much and it’s cute!

  38. Jessi on June 1, 2009 at 8:12 pm

    Great review!

  39. Marcy on June 1, 2009 at 9:04 pm

    I don’t usually enter giveaways but I’m loving this bag!

  40. Shanna on June 1, 2009 at 9:06 pm

    So cute, what a great laptop bag. I’m hoping I win!!

  41. Amanda G on June 1, 2009 at 9:06 pm

    algkent @ hotmail.com

  42. Daiva on June 1, 2009 at 9:28 pm

    It’s really cute! I am sure I’ll find a good use for it.

  43. Patrick on June 1, 2009 at 10:07 pm

    My wife really wants this bag!

  44. Alyssa @ Keeping the Kingdom First on June 1, 2009 at 10:21 pm

    This would look really cute on my shoulder at BlogHer this summer!

  45. Annie on June 1, 2009 at 10:33 pm

    Awesome bag!

    quapamom at yahoo dot com

  46. Tina Middleton on June 1, 2009 at 10:45 pm

    I love the other bag you displayed as well!

  47. Brenda on June 1, 2009 at 10:59 pm

    Recently laid off and ready to start my own freelance biz, this gorgeous bag would be a wonderful start to a new life. Thanks for sharing the possibility with your readers.

  48. Bethany on June 1, 2009 at 11:27 pm

    These bags look so beautiful and organizational! My husband purchased a new laptop for me this year. (My old one was falling apart literally!) But we have not had the money since to purchase a bag to carry it in – I am constantly worried about scratching it or scraping it, and this would be perfect!

  49. Sandra Dee on June 1, 2009 at 11:31 pm

    This bag is amazing!

    [email protected]

  50. sandi on June 2, 2009 at 12:02 am

    I just got my first netbook and can’t wait to use this bag!!!

  51. Mindy on June 2, 2009 at 12:03 am

    Wowzer….I love bags, this one would look beautiful carrying my coupons!!!

    [email protected]

  52. Krista Stempka on June 2, 2009 at 12:30 am

    I would love to win this bag!!!

  53. Lynette on June 2, 2009 at 9:14 am

    Wow, this looks really nice. Thanks

  54. Stacey on June 2, 2009 at 9:23 am

    I could use it to carry by coupon binder

  55. Kristen on June 2, 2009 at 9:24 am

    Love, love, love it!
    Kristen

  56. Erin on June 2, 2009 at 9:29 am

    mommyangel96 @ yahoo

    I love it I will enter every way I can :-)

  57. renee on June 2, 2009 at 9:37 am

    Thanks!

  58. Sara on June 2, 2009 at 9:41 am

    This is a great bag! Thanks for the giveaway!

  59. Helen on June 2, 2009 at 10:46 am

    I love the bag. I would use it for coupons mostly.My laptop usually sits on my desk. Love the compartments. Thanks for sharing the chance to get one.

  60. Helen on June 2, 2009 at 10:48 am

    Love the bag. I would use it for coupons mostly. My laptop sits on my desk most of the time. Thanks for the chance to get one of these great bags.

  61. Yolanda on June 2, 2009 at 11:30 am

    Looks like an awesome bag. Thank you for the giveaway!

  62. Amy Buchanan on June 2, 2009 at 11:32 am

    I love the combination of patterns and also the functionality. Was just at the airport this weekend and would have loved a bag like this.

    [email protected]

  63. jenn mak on June 2, 2009 at 11:58 am

    i love this bag! its beautiful!!!

  64. Shelby on June 2, 2009 at 12:24 pm

    Adorable!

  65. Nithya on June 2, 2009 at 12:48 pm

    Would love to win this.

  66. Sam on June 2, 2009 at 12:59 pm

    I would love to have this bag!!! It would be great for my coupon binder! Thanks so much for giving us the chance to win it!

  67. supreme on June 2, 2009 at 2:28 pm

    This will be a great replacement for my very uncool diaper bag and I can fit my netbook in it too!

  68. Kelly C on June 2, 2009 at 3:04 pm

    I love all of the compartments in this bag. It will definitely come in handy!

  69. Laura C on June 2, 2009 at 4:59 pm

    It’s lovely, and I’d love it!

  70. Katie on June 2, 2009 at 5:01 pm

    love it! so cute!

  71. Jennifer on June 2, 2009 at 6:54 pm

    This would be great for when I travel! I hope I win!!

  72. Megan Hightchew on June 2, 2009 at 9:07 pm

    I would just love to win this bag!

  73. BusyMom on June 2, 2009 at 9:19 pm

    Would love to win this bag.

  74. Amy Scott on June 2, 2009 at 10:30 pm

    What a great bag…hope I can win one! ;)

  75. Robin Pifer on June 2, 2009 at 10:37 pm

    I love this bag… perfect combo of form & function! Enter me again, please. :)

  76. Julie on June 2, 2009 at 10:52 pm

    I would love this! It would be perfect to test out for an upcoming airport trip I have.

  77. April on June 2, 2009 at 10:59 pm

    Love this bag!! Need a new “cool” diaper bag!!!!
    Thank you!

  78. Amy on June 2, 2009 at 11:10 pm

    What a beauty! I would use this to travel

  79. Heather Martin on June 3, 2009 at 12:09 am

    I love this bag! Pick me please!!!! :)

  80. Miriam on June 3, 2009 at 9:17 am

    Yay :) It looks beautiful!

  81. Emily B. on June 3, 2009 at 1:28 pm

    Great review! Love that you post lots of pictures.

  82. tina reynolds on June 3, 2009 at 1:45 pm

    wow its really cute

  83. Carolyn G on June 3, 2009 at 5:07 pm

    What a darling bag. I love it! Great for traveling!

  84. Rita on June 3, 2009 at 7:53 pm

    really cute…looks well constructed and very functional!

  85. Suzy on June 4, 2009 at 1:42 am

    This bag is so cute and functional, I love all the compartments.

  86. Cheryl F. (The Lucky Ladybug) on June 4, 2009 at 2:30 am

    I love your bag too :) It looks and sounds wonderful! Thanks for a well-written review.

  87. Jamie on June 4, 2009 at 10:49 am

    I love this!! It’s great that it has several different compartments for stashing “stuff” other than just your laptop – everything you need to work or vacation!!

  88. Laura Hills on June 4, 2009 at 6:28 pm

    I would absolutely use this bag for my laptop. I would also use it for certain things that I keep in my purse: my make up bag, my coupons, and my wallet!

  89. A Cowboy's Wife on June 4, 2009 at 10:24 pm

    {{{drool}}} Ummm, my makeup, laptop, camera, flip, and magazines, and notepad and pens….oh my!!! ALL this would go in MY BAG!

    Great write up on it;)

  90. Renee Evenson on June 4, 2009 at 11:18 pm

    I didn’t realise all the compartments that were inside until I read the review and saw your pics. This looks to be a well thought out design. I love the black and white fabric design — it is very stylish.

  91. Ladytink_534 on June 4, 2009 at 11:20 pm

    Wow! I could use this for a purse too? You mean, I don’t have to juggle more than one bag? Too cool!

  92. Chris from mich on June 5, 2009 at 3:02 am

    Wow, I just stumbled upon (but not through stumble upon lol) your site and am enjoying this great treat!

    I received a laptop for valentines day and am schlepping it around in a beach bag haha so if I were to win I’d be ecstatic as well!

    Keep up your fun bargains-I am the local ‘tell everyone what’s on sale gal’ so I am happy to have found others as thrifty as I!

    Chris

  93. Jill on June 5, 2009 at 10:20 am

    Love all the separate compartments to keep me organized!

  94. Kathleen on June 5, 2009 at 11:10 pm

    I love love love this bag! The Lady Lindy in Saigon is my favorite pattern. How ingenious that it completely opens up flat and has so many compartments. And I just noticed the scalloped edges at the top. They’ve really thought of everything!

  95. Kathleen on June 5, 2009 at 11:11 pm

    I’m now subscribing to your email updates

  96. Rachael Bender on June 5, 2009 at 11:51 pm

    I love the look of this bag. It’s so stylish, so much nicer than my boring black laptop bag,

  97. Nicole @ Nicole's Nickels on June 6, 2009 at 8:41 am

    I love this bag! Nicole @ Nicole’s Nickels

  98. Dawn on June 6, 2009 at 9:53 am

    I like that they have a separate compartment for pens, paper, books etc

  99. m q n on August 8, 2011 at 6:34 pm

    Finally a laptop bag to hold everything! And to be able to get through airport security without a hassle. AMEN!

  100. Amy on August 9, 2011 at 7:48 am

    Why didn’t I know about this bag sooner? Very cute! It would be so much easier to get through airport security was this amazing bag fit for all.

Leave a Comment





n