Review: Bobarra Checkpoint Friendly Laptop Bag

A bag that you can actually keep your laptop in for airport security screening. Sounds too good to be true, huh? Well, according to Bobarra you can!

I was given a Bobarra Checkpoint Friendly Laptop Bag to review. With this bag, you are able to go through security without having to remove your laptop! While that is an awesome feature of the bag, there are so many elements to this beautiful bag that impressed me!

Design Aspects of the Bag

This Bobarra laptop bag is made with quality and durability and so many great details! When I first opened my box, I saw a bag. Well, you get your laptop bag in a nice cloth bag, just like you would in most high-end handbag shops. This is a very nice accompaniment since you can keep your laptop bag inside the bag when you aren't traveling with it.

The bag comes in four different colors/designs and two different sizes. The Small size fits a 13″ laptop, while the Large size fits a 15″ laptop. I received the Large size in the color/design of The Lady Lindy in Barcelona (as pictured above). I have seen 2 of the other colors/designs in person and they are just as beautiful as the picture shows.

The exterior of the bag is beautiful. It is made of a stain and water resistant canvas. There are four metal feet on the bottom of the bag to provide protection.

The bag contains three total zip-up compartments:

The laptop compartment is soft and padded to provide adequate protection for your laptop. This compartment is the section where TSA security is supposed to be able to screen through during the security check-in.

The middle compartment is lined with the same design as the outside of the bag. When I saw this, I was impressed because you rarely see the inside of a bag lined this way. There is a clear zipper pocket that is removable. I used this pocket for my boarding pass and I.D. They were visible, easily accessible and closed securely inside the compartment so I wouldn‘t have to dig to find it. You could also store liquids in this clear zipper pocket so you could just easily remove it for security. This compartment is also large enough to keep other items too. I kept my wristlet in this middle compartment.

The third compartment is what Ill call the “work” compartment. I kept my notebook, calendar, phone, gadget batteries (phone, laptop, camera). This compartment has a zipper pocket to keep all of those small items you dont want to get lost in the bottom of your bag (I held my lipstick, gum and mints in there). There are also three small pockets stitched into the inside of the bag. These pockets are lined with the same exterior fabric (again, awesome detail) and one pocket has four pen/pencil pockets and an inner key ring holder. During my trip, I kept my cell phone in one of the pockets so it was easily accessible.

Bobarra Bag Interior Shot
Interior Picture. Bag shown is the Lady Lindy in Saigon.

Personal Use

I love this bag. I have received so many compliments! It is beautiful, stylish and functional. I really liked how the straps stayed UP on my shoulder when the bag was full of all my stuff. I had issues with my previous bag's shoulder strapsslipping down. As you can see from the information in this review, the little details were what made me appreciate it. I also love all of the compartments and organization the bag offers! Who wants to rummage through their bag to find something?

I really wanted to see if I would have to remove my computer from the bag for security. The Bobarra website clearly states that you have to “pack the bag correctly to ensure an unobstructed view of your computer.” You are supposed to unzip the middle section of the bag and lay it flat so they can scan it properly. I didn't do that like this You Tube video suggests.

I had a conversation with the TSA Screener during my trip to see if he was familiar with these types of bags (and hope I didn't get interrogated or anything). Luckily, I had a nice Screener who said the bag would go through fine as long as the other compartments of the bag didn't obstruct the view of the laptop section (yeah, that's what the Bobarra website said too). I had him scan it anyway knowing there were tons of other objects that would obstruct it. Ultimately, we had to remove my laptop and run it through the scanner separately since I didn't unzip the bag as I mentioned in the previous paragraph. The Screener said he has seen bags similar to the Bobarra laptop bag and they scan just fine.

You can rate this review in the published Divine Caroline Review here.

by Savings Lifestyle: Andrea on May 31, 2009

100 Comments

  • Kelly Flaherty - June 01, 2009 @ 10:34 am
    1

    As a new mommy, this bag would be a lifesaver for me! I’m struggling to keep organized. With all my coupons, planners, baby stuff to bring on the go, it’s hard to fit everything in my son’s small diaper bag. Not only would I be organized, but the bag would keep me in style.

  • Monica Lanton - June 01, 2009 @ 10:38 am
    2

    I think this would be a great bag for me as my current laptop bag is a boring blue backpack that looks like it is going to make me tip over! I love that is is checkpoint friendly too. It looks very spacious as well.

    [email protected]

  • The Diaper Diaries - June 01, 2009 @ 10:49 am
    3

    I love all the different compartments. This would be awesome to have!!

  • Tiffany Leary - June 01, 2009 @ 10:52 am
    4

    This is gorgeous! It would be a fantastic way to travel… Right now my poor little laptop gets squished in my backpack… Please rescue my laptop and pick me to win this gorgeous bag!

  • Tiffany Leary - June 01, 2009 @ 10:53 am
    5

    I already subscribe DAILY via the google reader. It’s so easy and convenient! You’re in my ‘inbox’ every day!

  • Tracy Hendricks - June 01, 2009 @ 10:54 am
    6

    I would get so much use from a laptop bag. With 3 young kids and 3 car seats, we don’t fly as a family right now, but most of our family is out of town. We do a lot of travelling for visits and camping, and use the laptop as a connection to the real world when out and about and even more so as a picture download. Lately, I’ve just been stashing the computer in the front seat on the floor, or stashing in the kids’ toy bag. Believe it or not, the laptop is still in pretty good shape, but a bag would be extremely helpful.

  • Myra - June 01, 2009 @ 11:03 am
    7

    I would love to use this bag for keeping all the stuff that goes around with me as I’m a new mommy! I love that it’s stylish and has many compartments! Yay for organization!

    [email protected]

  • Julie Keefer - June 01, 2009 @ 11:07 am
    8

    Wow this looks like it would make my life easier and certainly more organized!

  • Amy @ AmyLovesIt! - June 01, 2009 @ 11:08 am
    9

    I lurves it!

    sanorton02 AT gmail DOT com

  • Emilie @ Doritos for Dinner - June 01, 2009 @ 11:21 am
    10

    I MUST HAVE this bag! Please email me at [email protected] to let me know when I win it!

  • sito - June 01, 2009 @ 11:41 am
    11

    I am so happy to see that manufacturers are addressing some of the travel “problems” and making their products more airport-friendly. With all the other aggravations involved in traveling, little things like this can really make a difference!

  • Becky (Nickels-n-Dimes) - June 01, 2009 @ 12:01 pm
    12

    Getting another entry for this beautiful bag. As you know, I am frugal and as long as I have something functional, I won’t be buying anything new. So, that means unless I win this, I will continue to carry my plain ol’ bag.

    Thanks Andrea!

  • Kim - June 01, 2009 @ 12:19 pm
    13

    This bag rocks!!!

  • Elizabeth - June 01, 2009 @ 12:40 pm
    14

    I’m telling you – it’s a stylin’ bag fer sure!

  • [email protected] Everyday - June 01, 2009 @ 12:42 pm
    15

    That bag looks incredible!

  • Stephanie - June 01, 2009 @ 12:57 pm
    16

    This bag is so cute!

  • Jolene - June 01, 2009 @ 1:13 pm
    17

    This bag is awesome!

  • Michele - June 01, 2009 @ 1:24 pm
    18

    I would LOVE to win this. I have been looking for a bag for a while and can`t find one I like. This one looks awesome with lots of storage and its stylish as well.

  • Toni - June 01, 2009 @ 1:30 pm
    19

    This is a beautiful bag! It would come in handy traveling with 3 kids. My new laptop no longer fits in my old case.

  • Shannon Perlow - June 01, 2009 @ 1:48 pm
    20

    I love the designs! SO Great!

  • Adriana - June 01, 2009 @ 2:04 pm
    21

    That is super neat! And I love the print.

    collegekidsaves at gmail.com

  • Melissa - June 01, 2009 @ 2:07 pm
    22

    Gorgeous bag!

  • Amanda - June 01, 2009 @ 2:13 pm
    23

    What a great bag. I am in desperate need of a new laptop bag. Mine is 3 years old and it’s tire to retire it.

  • Michele - June 01, 2009 @ 2:21 pm
    24

    I’ve never seen a bag quite like this one. Would love to try it out! I’ve got four kids (and my own junk!) to keep track of….this would surely help!

  • Poltzie - June 01, 2009 @ 2:29 pm
    25

    I would LOVE to win this!

  • Jen - June 01, 2009 @ 2:48 pm
    26

    Love the bag!

  • Brittany Albert - June 01, 2009 @ 3:04 pm
    27

    cool
    balbert1205 at gmail dot com

  • Halifax - June 01, 2009 @ 3:18 pm
    28

    Would love to own one of these. Feel so trendy already

  • Katherine - June 01, 2009 @ 4:36 pm
    29

    This bag sounds great!

  • Lorie - June 01, 2009 @ 5:33 pm
    30

    love it!

  • Mercedes - June 01, 2009 @ 5:56 pm
    31

    OMG! I really like that lindy design.

    Mercedes

  • Connie R. - June 01, 2009 @ 5:57 pm
    32

    looks wonderful

  • Angel - June 01, 2009 @ 6:03 pm
    33

    Great review! Now I’m even more sure that I want this bag!

  • Shelli - June 01, 2009 @ 6:27 pm
    34
  • Shelli - June 01, 2009 @ 6:29 pm
    35

    This bag would have come in handy at the airport this weekend. Had a TSA pretty much tear apart our bag looking through everything because the view of “something” was obstructed. Even tore apart a mini first aid kit. super frusterating…soooo….this bag would make that whole process so much easier… :)

  • robin - June 01, 2009 @ 7:07 pm
    36

    Looks like a well thought out bag! And with having to take off shoes, belts, and just about everything else… keeping the laptop in it’s bag would be pretty useful.
    Thanks!
    Robin

  • Erica - June 01, 2009 @ 7:31 pm
    37

    Wow, this would come in handy! It holds so much and it’s cute!

  • Jessi - June 01, 2009 @ 8:12 pm
    38

    Great review!

  • Marcy - June 01, 2009 @ 9:04 pm
    39

    I don’t usually enter giveaways but I’m loving this bag!

  • Shanna - June 01, 2009 @ 9:06 pm
    40

    So cute, what a great laptop bag. I’m hoping I win!!

  • Amanda G - June 01, 2009 @ 9:06 pm
    41

    algkent @ hotmail.com

  • Daiva - June 01, 2009 @ 9:28 pm
    42

    It’s really cute! I am sure I’ll find a good use for it.

  • Patrick - June 01, 2009 @ 10:07 pm
    43

    My wife really wants this bag!

  • Alyssa @ Keeping the Kingdom First - June 01, 2009 @ 10:21 pm
    44

    This would look really cute on my shoulder at BlogHer this summer!

  • Annie - June 01, 2009 @ 10:33 pm
    45

    Awesome bag!

    quapamom at yahoo dot com

  • Tina Middleton - June 01, 2009 @ 10:45 pm
    46

    I love the other bag you displayed as well!

  • Brenda - June 01, 2009 @ 10:59 pm
    47

    Recently laid off and ready to start my own freelance biz, this gorgeous bag would be a wonderful start to a new life. Thanks for sharing the possibility with your readers.

  • Bethany - June 01, 2009 @ 11:27 pm
    48

    These bags look so beautiful and organizational! My husband purchased a new laptop for me this year. (My old one was falling apart literally!) But we have not had the money since to purchase a bag to carry it in – I am constantly worried about scratching it or scraping it, and this would be perfect!

  • Sandra Dee - June 01, 2009 @ 11:31 pm
    49

    This bag is amazing!

    [email protected]

  • sandi - June 02, 2009 @ 12:02 am
    50

    I just got my first netbook and can’t wait to use this bag!!!

  • Mindy - June 02, 2009 @ 12:03 am
    51

    Wowzer….I love bags, this one would look beautiful carrying my coupons!!!

    [email protected]

  • Krista Stempka - June 02, 2009 @ 12:30 am
    52

    I would love to win this bag!!!

  • Lynette - June 02, 2009 @ 9:14 am
    53

    Wow, this looks really nice. Thanks

  • Stacey - June 02, 2009 @ 9:23 am
    54

    I could use it to carry by coupon binder

  • Kristen - June 02, 2009 @ 9:24 am
    55

    Love, love, love it!
    Kristen

  • Erin - June 02, 2009 @ 9:29 am
    56

    mommyangel96 @ yahoo

    I love it I will enter every way I can :-)

  • renee - June 02, 2009 @ 9:37 am
    57

    Thanks!

  • Sara - June 02, 2009 @ 9:41 am
    58

    This is a great bag! Thanks for the giveaway!

  • Helen - June 02, 2009 @ 10:46 am
    59

    I love the bag. I would use it for coupons mostly.My laptop usually sits on my desk. Love the compartments. Thanks for sharing the chance to get one.

  • Helen - June 02, 2009 @ 10:48 am
    60

    Love the bag. I would use it for coupons mostly. My laptop sits on my desk most of the time. Thanks for the chance to get one of these great bags.

  • Yolanda - June 02, 2009 @ 11:30 am
    61

    Looks like an awesome bag. Thank you for the giveaway!

  • Amy Buchanan - June 02, 2009 @ 11:32 am
    62

    I love the combination of patterns and also the functionality. Was just at the airport this weekend and would have loved a bag like this.

    [email protected]

  • jenn mak - June 02, 2009 @ 11:58 am
    63

    i love this bag! its beautiful!!!

  • Shelby - June 02, 2009 @ 12:24 pm
    64

    Adorable!

  • Nithya - June 02, 2009 @ 12:48 pm
    65

    Would love to win this.

  • Sam - June 02, 2009 @ 12:59 pm
    66

    I would love to have this bag!!! It would be great for my coupon binder! Thanks so much for giving us the chance to win it!

  • supreme - June 02, 2009 @ 2:28 pm
    67

    This will be a great replacement for my very uncool diaper bag and I can fit my netbook in it too!

  • Kelly C - June 02, 2009 @ 3:04 pm
    68

    I love all of the compartments in this bag. It will definitely come in handy!

  • Laura C - June 02, 2009 @ 4:59 pm
    69

    It’s lovely, and I’d love it!

  • Katie - June 02, 2009 @ 5:01 pm
    70

    love it! so cute!

  • Jennifer - June 02, 2009 @ 6:54 pm
    71

    This would be great for when I travel! I hope I win!!

  • Megan Hightchew - June 02, 2009 @ 9:07 pm
    72

    I would just love to win this bag!

  • BusyMom - June 02, 2009 @ 9:19 pm
    73

    Would love to win this bag.

  • Amy Scott - June 02, 2009 @ 10:30 pm
    74

    What a great bag…hope I can win one! ;)

  • Robin Pifer - June 02, 2009 @ 10:37 pm
    75

    I love this bag… perfect combo of form & function! Enter me again, please. :)

  • Julie - June 02, 2009 @ 10:52 pm
    76

    I would love this! It would be perfect to test out for an upcoming airport trip I have.

  • April - June 02, 2009 @ 10:59 pm
    77

    Love this bag!! Need a new “cool” diaper bag!!!!
    Thank you!

  • Amy - June 02, 2009 @ 11:10 pm
    78

    What a beauty! I would use this to travel

  • Heather Martin - June 03, 2009 @ 12:09 am
    79

    I love this bag! Pick me please!!!! :)

  • Miriam - June 03, 2009 @ 9:17 am
    80

    Yay :) It looks beautiful!

  • Emily B. - June 03, 2009 @ 1:28 pm
    81

    Great review! Love that you post lots of pictures.

  • tina reynolds - June 03, 2009 @ 1:45 pm
    82

    wow its really cute

  • Carolyn G - June 03, 2009 @ 5:07 pm
    83

    What a darling bag. I love it! Great for traveling!

  • Rita - June 03, 2009 @ 7:53 pm
    84

    really cute…looks well constructed and very functional!

  • Suzy - June 04, 2009 @ 1:42 am
    85

    This bag is so cute and functional, I love all the compartments.

  • Cheryl F. (The Lucky Ladybug) - June 04, 2009 @ 2:30 am
    86

    I love your bag too :) It looks and sounds wonderful! Thanks for a well-written review.

  • Jamie - June 04, 2009 @ 10:49 am
    87

    I love this!! It’s great that it has several different compartments for stashing “stuff” other than just your laptop – everything you need to work or vacation!!

  • Laura Hills - June 04, 2009 @ 6:28 pm
    88

    I would absolutely use this bag for my laptop. I would also use it for certain things that I keep in my purse: my make up bag, my coupons, and my wallet!

  • A Cowboy's Wife - June 04, 2009 @ 10:24 pm
    89

    {{{drool}}} Ummm, my makeup, laptop, camera, flip, and magazines, and notepad and pens….oh my!!! ALL this would go in MY BAG!

    Great write up on it;)

  • Renee Evenson - June 04, 2009 @ 11:18 pm
    90

    I didn’t realise all the compartments that were inside until I read the review and saw your pics. This looks to be a well thought out design. I love the black and white fabric design — it is very stylish.

  • Ladytink_534 - June 04, 2009 @ 11:20 pm
    91

    Wow! I could use this for a purse too? You mean, I don’t have to juggle more than one bag? Too cool!

  • Chris from mich - June 05, 2009 @ 3:02 am
    92

    Wow, I just stumbled upon (but not through stumble upon lol) your site and am enjoying this great treat!

    I received a laptop for valentines day and am schlepping it around in a beach bag haha so if I were to win I’d be ecstatic as well!

    Keep up your fun bargains-I am the local ‘tell everyone what’s on sale gal’ so I am happy to have found others as thrifty as I!

    Chris

  • Jill - June 05, 2009 @ 10:20 am
    93

    Love all the separate compartments to keep me organized!

  • Kathleen - June 05, 2009 @ 11:10 pm
    94

    I love love love this bag! The Lady Lindy in Saigon is my favorite pattern. How ingenious that it completely opens up flat and has so many compartments. And I just noticed the scalloped edges at the top. They’ve really thought of everything!

  • Kathleen - June 05, 2009 @ 11:11 pm
    95

    I’m now subscribing to your email updates

  • Rachael Bender - June 05, 2009 @ 11:51 pm
    96

    I love the look of this bag. It’s so stylish, so much nicer than my boring black laptop bag,

  • Nicole @ Nicole's Nickels - June 06, 2009 @ 8:41 am
    97

    I love this bag! Nicole @ Nicole’s Nickels

  • Dawn - June 06, 2009 @ 9:53 am
    98

    I like that they have a separate compartment for pens, paper, books etc

  • m q n - August 08, 2011 @ 6:34 pm
    99

    Finally a laptop bag to hold everything! And to be able to get through airport security without a hassle. AMEN!

  • Amy - August 09, 2011 @ 7:48 am
    100

    Why didn’t I know about this bag sooner? Very cute! It would be so much easier to get through airport security was this amazing bag fit for all.

Leave a Comment